Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale - All Databases (Choose to Search Specific or All Resources)
This will give you the option to select a single Gale database, or all Gale database subscriptions.
Scholastic Go! (General Encyclopedia & Websites)
PA PowerLibrary (In-School Access)
These websites offer essays on great hero examples. They may be used as website sources for your project. You should consider the information offered as a starting point for your figure selection.
The My Hero Project
Since 1995, MY HERO has provided free resources for sharing hero stories, art, audio and short films. MY HERO gives lifelong learners access to an ever-growing digital archive of inspiring content, tools for self-expression and tutorials to help them share their uplifting stories with the world.
These websites are examples of reliable, informative sites you can use in your scholarly work. Use these as models in your website evaluation process, or use them for your specific research topic.
Academy of Achievement
Includes biographee interviews (audio, text). Fields include arts, business, public service, science/exploration, sports.
Baseball Almanac offers short bios and career statistics for nearly all Baseball Hall of Fame inductees.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
These are women who were writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Search for biographies of distinguished women by name or by field.
ESPN SportsCentury is a biography program that counted down the top North American athletes of the last century. On the SportsCentury Web site readers will find biographies of these 100 athletes, who include Michael Jordan, Wayne Gretzky, Jack Nicklaus and Joe DiMaggio.
Gallery of Achievers
In the Gallery of Achievers, the focus is on individuals who have shaped the 20th century by their accomplishments.
Original documents related to individuals in U.S. history.
Nobel Prize Internet Archive
Biographies of Nobel Prize winners, with links to other sites containing information. Quick search available or can be browsed by Nobel Prize category.
Olympics Team USA Athletes
The United States Olympic Committee's official website provides information on members of Team USA.
Pro Football Hall of Fame
Pro Football Hall of Fame has an alphabetical listing of all its members. For each player it provides a biography, stats, career highlights and more.
Sports Illustrated has been honoring excellence in sports through its Sportsman of the Year award since 1954, when Roger Bannister was recognized for breaking the 4-minute mile.
TIME Magazine's selection of the most important people of the last 100 years.
US Presidents and First Ladies - WhiteHouse.gov
WhiteHouse.gov is the official Web site of the White House. On its “About” students will find links to biography pages for the presidents and first ladies who have lived there.
Women's History Month - Library of Congress
Learn about the generations of women who have made an impact in history.
KV Library Books
Use Destiny to locate the biographies on our shelves. Most biographies are arranged alphabetically according to the subject's name in the 921s. Collective biographies, books that profile several people, are located in the 920s.