Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale - All Databases (Choose to Search Specific or All Resources)
This will give you the option to select a single Gale database, or all Gale database subscriptions.
Gale Student Resources In Context (Article Database)
Westward Expansion Websites
Go West: U.S. Westward Expansion
Traces the laws and social conditions that fueled Westward Expansion in the mid to late 1800's; includes links to maps and other primary sources.
The Indian Removal Act
This Library of Congress Web Guide examines the 1830 law that forced Native American tribes onto reservations.
Museum of Westward Expansion - National Park Service
This site, based on the museum located in the Gateway Arch in St. Louis, focuses on the "history of the 19th century American West, from the Louisiana Purchase to the closing of the frontier in 1890." The site includes an interactive tour of the museum, a chronology of events in the 1800s, audio clips, and narratives highlighting exploration, American Indians, the fur trade, and other topics. From the National Park Service.
New Perspectives on the West - PBS
This interactive biographical dictionary provides concise profiles of the men and women featured in THE WEST, as well as information about many individuals who are mentioned only in passing. In most cases, the profiles offer additional details about the lives of these historical figures, together with some comment on their significance for historians.
Frequently asked questions about the Oregon Trail
The U.S. - Mexican War
Companion page to the PBS Online series, this site examines the Mexican-American War; includes a timeline, essays, and more.
Websites for Native American Research
Bureau of Indian Affairs, US Department of the Interior
"Established in 1824, IA currently provides services to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are 565 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States."
Find fact sheets, online exhibitions, reading lists, research links, videos, and more from the American Indian section of the Encyclopedia
Library of Congress: American Memory Project, Native American History
Browse the Library of Congress' digital primary collections on Native Americans or search by topic
Library of Congress: Indians of North America
Annotated list of websites exploring Native American studies issues
National Museum of the American Indian
"First national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans"
Native American Heritage Month
Website celebrating the history and culture of Native Americans. Hosted by the Library of Congress, the site includes audio and video, exhibits and events at national institutions, and photographs.
Central repository of links and information about indigenous people and organizations around the world
KV Library Books
Look for books with the call number 978.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (eBooks)
Scholastic Go! (General Encyclopedia & Websites)
PA PowerLibrary (In-School Access)